Fennec-Teddy Art Doll

She’s a long overdue project. I’ve made the head long way in August and just finished him in around mid-end October. I wasn’t sure what I was planning to do with the rest of the body or how it would be designed. Other artists normally plan ahead of what they wanted to make, plan the design in advance, etc. But not for me. Sometimes I prepared only until half-way or even just partial body then follow my guts for the rest. This is exactly what I did for this piece.

fennecbear2.jpgfennecbear1.jpg

It honestly took me awhile to get my crafting mojo back, I think in between those time I didn’t really make anything except a few custom order. No new items. Generally I don’t like making the same things over and over again, so I normally always try something new or skip my crafting from one type to another. For instance after making an art doll, I’ll go to just sculpting, baking or cooking then embroider something. just like that. I take my time learning from other artists, either browsing DA tutorials or youtube videos. I look mostly on ideas to get inspiration, or crafting tips like how to attach furs to art dolls. I found it very amusing. Many people asked me the exact same question: how can you craft while doing your master thesis? Well simple answer: its not something like a routine I do in between. its an art therapy, it something I need to keep me sane.

So back to the bear again, I think I’m only gonna make one more of these in grey, baby yellow or blue. maybe purple. still not sure yet. She is wire supported on the body and head, so even though the head is needle sculpted its firm. Maybe I’ll make the next one fully pose-able. This little bear is looking for someone to adopt her, so I hope she finds a loving home soon. I’m currently doing more sculpting (without plushie or other soft parts) and I will talk about it more in the next post 🙂

Leave a comment